Close but no cigar

Hello Folks. We have unfortunately had another attempted break in at Fan Bay. The external locks were cut off and the door was damaged. Luckily the new internal security measures prevented them from gaining further access and we have now replaced the locks.

Could I ask anyone who hears anything to let me know? I think this time they might have come in from Langdon as they were clearly looking at other underground things along the way. 3 or 4 Sewer lids were opened and then left off. My theory is they were trying to return to their natural environment!

I have asked all our staff and local volunteers to be extra vigilant over the holidays but if any of you are in the area over the festive period I would really appreciate it if you check the door as well. If you see or hear anything my numbers are 07500782943 / 07729832149.

Cheers everyone and I hope you have a good Christmas and New Year.


Jon Barker

Assistant Visitor Experience Manager
National Trust
South Foreland Lighthouse

Leave a comment